This is a song called Memphis Skyline by Rufus Wainwright in memory of the musician Jeff Buckley. If you haven’t heard Buckley’s cover of “Hallelujah,” a song about King David’s tribulations by Leonard Cohen, you should. It is probably the most beautiful peice of recorded music I’ve ever heard. You can listen to it here (if the video doesn’t load, just click the small YouTube button):

On May 29th, 1997, in Memphis, Tennessee, Jeff Buckley went for a spontaneous swim in the Wolf River, fully clothed, was caught in the wake of a passing boat. His body was recovered on June 4th. It’s a bit eerie as in his song, “Lover, You Should’ve Come Over,” he sings: “Looking out the door I see the rain fall upon the funeral mourners/¬†Parading in a wake of sad relations as their shoes fill up with water.”

This song is a beautiful elegiac tribute to Jeff Buckley, by his pal Rufus Wainwright.

Memphis Skyline

Never thought of Hades
Under the Mississippi
But still I’ve come to sing for him
So southern furies
Prepare to walk for my harp
I have strung, and I will leave with him
Relax the cogs of rhyme
Over the Memphis sky
Turn back the wheels of time
Under the Memphis skyline
always hated him for the way he looked
In the gaslight of the morning
Then came hallelujah sounding like Ophelia
for me in my room living
So kiss me, my darling stay with me till morning
Turn back and you will stay
Under the Memphis Skyline

About psychopompkaleidoscope

Is a mortal who will not live forever.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

